The Consultant

This morning I was invited into a meeting with some forensic scientists to consult on an issue that now escapes me. I was attending the meeting with my mentor and for this and other reasons I was permeated with nervous anxiety. Shortly into the meeting I was asked a direct question to which I had no useful reply. On the spur of the moment I launched into a stream of bullshit, drawing upon the thinnest of connecting ideas for support. They accepted my reply and the meeting moved on. After the meeting I was walking silently with my mentor, he turned and gave me an approving nod. It was a beautiful moment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

