Introductions

I was sitting at a table with a group of people from university. One of whom was a girl who I have sat next to numerous times but still do not know her name. It has reached the point now where asking her name would probably seem ridiculous, so instead I avoid the issue. She was sitting beside a girlfriend of hers who I had never seen. There was a boy named Mathew who was very familiar to me, my cousin’s ex-boyfriend Scott was also present.

Due to the fact that few people at the table knew each other, someone suggested that we play the introduction game where each person in turn states their name and reveals something about themselves.

The mystery girl from university declared her name to be Scout, and revealed that she was adopted. Her friend sourly revealed her name to be something like ‘Nadir’, however I cannot be certain. She then stated that she came from a family of fifteen children.

I revealed my name but evaded the task of laying bare some other secret about myself. Scout made strongly disapproving noises about my reluctance.

Scott then piped in with his name and began talking about how he was studying molecular biology with me and really enjoying it. He went on to confess that he had previously attempted studying computing several times and had difficulty getting enthused about the subject matter. Reality drifted in during this confession.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

