Bike Thief

I was riding my bike around the suburbs looking for interesting plants. I stopped and locked it to a railing so I could venture on foot down a path through a large open tract of land. It appeared to be a paddock laying disused in the are between the back of several housing estates.

The path was well worn and people occasionally passed me going the opposite direction. In the middle of the paddock there was a decrepit building, where I sat and took in the surroundings.

When I arrived back at my bike someone had stolen the wheels. It was chained against the railing of a staircase inside a shopping arcade and was now sitting on its forks. I began asking people in the shops if they had seen the person responsible. Eventually someone told me they had seen a teenage boy taking them upstairs.

On the first landing I found the boy dismantling the wheels. I grabbed him and began yelling abuse at him. In his fear he offered me his other bike, which folded up into a briefcase. I let him go and examined the shiny steel frame of the fold up bike.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

