Schweine Grippe

This afternoon I was shopping for some items of food for my sick girlfriend. I was picking up some bread rolls to have with soup from the dispensers at the back of Rewe on Turmstrasse in Berlin. I was picking the bread rolls out one at a time using my hand, rather than the tongs provided by the store (which are virtually useless). A large, ugly, scruffy looking German man stood towering over his little girlfriend beside me and he began aggressively spluttering out insults, that were clearly aimed at me. The only key phrase I can remember was Schweine Grippe (swine flu). I chose to ignore him and turned to walk away. He took this very badly, raised his arm and elbowed me in the chest. I walked away and and stood in front of the wall of salami. He wandered past me and glared, I stared blankly back at him wondering if I should take his photo for my blog.

  1. You did the right thing not photographing him! There are some moments when getting through the event unscathed is more important than secondary goal-fulfilment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

