Red and Blue

Last night, I was in a world where my girlfriend and I had been fighting because I found out she was married to someone else. I had started spending a lot of time with another girl. We went out for dinner together and then went to a bar to see R.E.M. play. My girlfriend was there with some friends, she looked to me with very sad eyes as we walked in the door. I moved to the front of the bar to watch the band. The back of the bar was a raised section behind tall panes of glass. Below us stood a crowd of people swaying with the music. The stage held all of the band minus Michael Stipe. I looked around a saw him directly below me in the crowd. His fans were touching his ironing board stomach and lifting his T-shirt as he moved back toward the stage.

I turned to see my date for the evening giving my girlfriend a verbal assault. They stood facing each other in identical dresses, my girlfriend in red and my date in blue. My date was listing a bunch of mean things about my girlfriend. I walked over and took my girlfriend by the hand and I walked out the door with her.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

