A matter of taste

I just took my final flight in China. I was seated next to a sweet young girl who just finished her masters and took her first flight to ShenZhen to begin her first job. 

When the meal was served she proceeded to mix everything together. There is no separation between the main meal and sweets in China. The first time I watched someone eating a marmalade filled croissant with a piece of bacon on top I was rather perplexed, now it seems normal. My companion today paused in the middle of eating her chicken rice to open the small satchel of butter. She then began to eat it with a spoon, only stopping to turn to me and comment ‘很好吃’ (tastes good).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

